Search Our Site

Snapcode for CSULBASI
ASI Student Media Takes Home Intercollegiate Broadcasting Awards

Long Beach, Calif. - Associated Students, Inc. (ASI) student media took home four awards at the 2017 Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) National Awards held at Hotel Pennsylvania in New York City, New York on Saturday, March 4.

"These awards recognize student excellence," said Student Media Coordinator Danny Lemos. "To be selected in the top five among 600 other universities and colleges and 100 high schools is nothing short of amazing. The students are proud to be acknowledged nationally."

The awards are as follows:

  • 1st Place, Best Specialty Show: Kbeach Radio's "Food-ology Radio" - Dayana Enriquez, Stephanie Prideaux, Andrew Ossa, Brittanny Ann Wruck & Suzette Aguirre.
  • Finalist, Best Talk Program: Kbeach Radio's "Brains Are Sexy" - Janel Esparza & Anita H. Hamilton.
  • Finalist, Most Creative Show: Kbeach Radio's "Good Morning Long Beach State" - Ryan Morgan & Richard Freifield.
  • Finalist, Best Comedy Program (TV): College Beat TV's "Long Beach Sketch" - "Daniel Farias, Tyler Fernandez, Dion Garcia, Adam Pacheco, Joseph Covarubbias & Katie Sarrels.

ASI student media has boasted a total of 10 IBS awards over the past several years and has been recognized consecutively for the past four years with accolades including eight finalist awards and three first place awards.

"I'm particularly proud of the students who entered and represented themselves," said Lemos. "Some Kbeach volunteers went to New York on their own dime for the awards ceremony-that's outstanding, that's commitment. And they're extremely happy to have won."

For more information on ASI student media, visit